A Work in Progress

16 Aug

I felt his warm, strong hands firmly gripping my waist as he tried to make me
understand what he was saying.  It seemed so incomprehensible to me, how could
he say those things, he couldn’t possibly mean them, how could he feel that
way.  I knew I must be dreaming or hallucinating that this whole thing was
happening.

“Don’t”  I wimpered.  I wasn’t scared of him only of waking up from this
dream.

“Why shouldn’t I?”  he demanded, his tone firm but tender at the same
time.

“Because it doesn’t make sense for you to be saying these things, it just
can’t be”  I timidly replied.

“Why not?  You are not making any sense at all, I’m telling you the truth,
I’m tired of hiding it or pretending that it doesn’t exist…I love you, dammit,
I’ve loved you from the moment that I met you!”

I could feel the air catch in my throat as I heard him utter those words
again, it was all so surreal to me.  Suddenly those hands that held me firmly in
place slowly began to wrap around my waist, pulling me closer to him.  I could
feel the heat radiating off his body as I inched closer to him.
With one hand
still holding me tight his other hand came up to stroke the hair away from my
face, “Why can’t you see yourself the way I see you?” he grumbled in my ear.  I
was completely caught off guard when he lowered his face to mine and gently
pressed his lips to mine.  My hands gripped at his muscular arms as I felt the
strength leaving my body.  What seemed like an eternity only lasted a few
seconds when he finally pulled away, his face still hovering just inches from
mine.

“Wow” he whispered, ” you have no idea how long I have waited to do that, how
badly I have wanted to tell you all these things, how badly I have wanted to
feel you close to me.”

“What are you saying?” I managed to croak out.

“I’m saying I love you, I want to be with you, I know that you feel the same
way, its written all over your face when you look at me.  I’m not asking you to
trust me with no reason to, but I want to win you, I want to fight for you, I
want to be there when you feel alone and I want to be there when you are scared,
but I also want to be there when you are strong.  I’m asking you to give me a
chance….give us a chance.”

There was something there in his eyes, something that I couldn’t quite put my
finger on…could it be….was that sincerity I saw in his eyes?  Was he telling
the truth, it didn’t make any sense to me that he could be, after all I was
nothing special but there was something that made me what to believe him,
something that gave me hope and at that moment, hope was just what I needed.

Leave a Reply

