Big Mama Says You Look Like a Fool

16 Aug

orig. published 6/2/2011

“Pants on the ground, pants on the ground, looking like a fool with your
pant’s on the ground”

I will never forget the first time I ever heard General Larry Platt sing
those lyrics in the audition round of American Idol, it was stuck in my head for
days after.  It became a viral sensation almost overnight.  To this day, every
time I see someone with their pants sagging around their bottoms I think in my
head “Looking like a fool with your pants on the ground”

So, tonight I must applaud the Ft. Worth Texas T for taking a stand against
this insanely idiodic trend.  The T, the major mass transit provider for the Ft.
Worth area, today began to enforce a policy requiring all passengers to pull up
those saggy drawers or leave the bus and terminal areas.  For the vast majority
of riders they are thrilled but as always there are those who are not so open to
the change.

T rider, DeShawn Miller told the local news station that sagging is something
that he grew up with, it was just how he was raised.  See, I just don’t buy that
as an excuse, to me that is like saying the devil made me do it.  It is a matter
of decency, whether your pants are hanging off your rear end or your jeans hug
your hips so low that the straps of your thong are visible over your hips, no
one needs or wants to see what is on under your clothes…at least not out in
public that is.

What is the attraction to letting your pants hang low?  Why is it so
important to actually leave the bus because you were asked to pull your pants
up?  Is your city one of the few with a “no sag” law?  Can’t someone stop the
insanity?!?!

Leave a comment