I am going to become a nun, its easier than dating…

16 Aug

orig. published 3/20/11

So, this week I took a chance and sent a response to a personals ad.  Well,
this isn’t really a risk for me, I respond to them from time to time if one
catches my interest and this one caught my attention.  My brother happened to be
in town so I didn’t have much time to talk to this guy or anything till this
weekend.  We sent a few emails and IM’s over a couple of days, nothing really
big, in fact I was starting to get a little irritated b/c the IM’s always ended
up being like one message and then nothing.  The big risk came tonight, we
exchanged a couple of IM’s and then he asked if I wanted to chat on the phone, I
had his number so I gave him a call while I was driving home from Walmart.  We
only talked for about 15 or 20 mins. and that was plenty enough.  In the course
of the conversation we went from “Wow, I just have to say how beautiful you are”
to “Do you want to come over?” to “What positions do you like?”

Now, I realize that I have had a slightly sketchy past when it comes to
relationships but I would like to think that I have come a long way in the last
few years, and at least this one had the 3 big ones (a car, a job and an
apartment) but it left me wondering if I just attract this kind of guy?  You
know the one, all he thinks about is sex and when he is gonna get it and what he
has to say to get it.  It makes to really hard to trust that a guy is being
sincere when the conversation is all about what he has to do to get me into
bed.

I realize that sex is an important component to a relationship but not on the
first conversation, hell not even the second one either.  First conversations
are “What kind of music do you like?” “What is your favorite movies?” “What do
you do for fun?” stuff like that, not “Would you like me to whisper sweet things
in your ear while I am inside you?”

I can’t believe that it is this hard to find a man, not a boy, but a man.  I
would like to think that I am worthy of at least the respect of someone to not
ask me in the first 10 minutes of the first conversation if I shave or not.  I
may not be girly but I am a lady dang it.

So, I am left wondering how long it will take before I just totally swear off
men all together.  Why is it so hard to find a quality man in this world?

Leave a Reply

