New Does Not Always Equal Better

16 Aug

orig. published 5/10/11

There is something to be said about the ease and convenience of having
electronic devices and Lord knows that I live and die by my mp3 player and I was
completely lost today while my phone was out of commission but I just can not
bring myself to buy one of the eReaders that are taking over the market these
days.  I would love to be able to have the newest books or magazines the day
they come out without having to leave my house but there is just a connection
that I have to a book.

Some of my fondest memoires as a child are of reading a good book.  Every
summer I would participate in the city summer reading program, the librarians
all knew me by name, I would spend my entire summer with my nose stuck in a
book.   Every year I would beg my parents for book money when the book fair came
to town and I would load up on books, I’d come home with 5 or 6 books and they
would only last me a couple of weeks and then I would be begging to go to the
library for more books.  I still have a couple of my favorites that are so worn
from re-reading that I am afraid to even touch them anymore.

There is something about the smell of a new book (or an old one for that
matter either) the crispness of the pages, the feel of it between my fingers,
the weight in my hands.  It just seems unnatural to me the idea of a Kindle or a
Nook, being unable to read because I forgot to charge it one night.  Not to
mention the economic affects that shutting down stores and the jobs lost in the
publishing field but beyond that, holding a cold hard appliance just does not
have the same feel or stir the same love and fond memories as pulling that old,
musty, weathered favorite paperback out of your bag, curling up in a chair with
a cup of hot coffee and entering a world devoid of any worries and cares and
just for a moment forgetting about everything around you and surrendering to the
charm of a good book.

Leave a Reply

