The Land of the Free and the Home of the….

16 Aug

orig. published 7/3/2011

I love living in Texas!!  I hate the heat here but I love living in Texas.
You could say I am a Texas girl through and through, they say everything is
bigger in Texas and that definitely goes for the pride people from these parts
feel for their home.  Yet, as much pride as I feel for this wonderful, beautiful
place I call home, I feel as much irritation and annoyance toward the stupid
people that live here.

I know that there are stupid people all over this great land of ours but it
just seems that its amplified by the fools that live here.  This year, so far,
seems to have been a year of natural disasters, from tornadoes to floods it
seems that everyone has had their share of mother nature’s fury, Texas
included.  This year has been the worst drought the state has seen in 116 years,
since record keeping began here.  2.5 million acres of land have been destroyed
by wildfires and approx. 30% of the crops and pastures have been lost across the
state.  There are 254 counties in Texas, of those counties, as of July 3rd there
are only 19 counties not listed under a burn ban, those counties primarily
located are centered in the far northeast region that has had recent rains but
the rest of us have been severely lacking.

Now, if there is one thing that we do big around here its patriotic
holidays.  Cookouts, family, God and fireworks.  Lots of fireworks.  Most
larger, more populated counties have restrictions on fireworks within city
limits byt most of the more rural counties allow fireworks, as long as there is
no standing burn ban like there is now.  Every year there are people shooting
off fireworks in my very populated neighborhood, usually I just shake my head
and mutter “idiot” under my breath but this year I feel a certain concern over
this act.

I am not always the most law abiding, I speed, don’t cross at crosswalks all
the time but when it comes to the big stuff, the stuff that is life and death
important, I pay attention and I just don’t get what makes others not use their
noggins and practice some common sense.  When 238 counties are under burn bans
because of such extreme drought conditions why take the chance of starting any
kind of fire, after all, out in the country there is mostly land to be destroyed
but here in the city its houses….and people who pay a price for your
stupidity.

Can someone explain to me why people refuse to use their heads when they know
better?

Leave a Reply

