When is enough enough?

16 Aug

orig. published 2/24/11

What constitutes invasion of privacy these days?  In Grapevine, Texas if you
apply for a job with the police department they will require that you hand over
the passwords to any and all social media sites that you follow for them to
check as they see fit.

My Facebook is set to friends only for most all settings but none of them are
set to public and as the settings evolve, I evolve with them.  I am cautious
with who i let onto my friends list because my Facebook is just that, MY
Facebook.  Its where I go to vent, to catch up with old and new friends and just
pass the time.  So who has the right to tell me that I have to ante up my
password or no job for me?  First it was drug tests, then credit checks now its
passwords; how much longer till its email passwords and DNA samples?

I realize that some may argue that someone’s Facebook is a picture to their
personality and judgement, however I disagree, I find that I censor quite a bit
of what actually makes it to my page.

“We need to have access to see if we have the right person for us,” said
GPD’s Lt. Todd Dearing.  There has to be a better way to weed out the bad
potential new hires without invading my privacy.  Its not a matter of trust,
what I do in my personal time, as long as it is within the guidelines of the
law, is no one’s business but my own.

So who draws the line at what is acceptable for an employer to ask?  When is
it too much for someone to require?

Leave a Reply

