Why Are You So Fat

16 Aug

When I was in my late teens I went with my mother to our family doctor one
day so she could get a prescription for the flu she had caught that winter.  I
had been going to this doctor since before I was a teenager and he had never
mentioned much about my weight until this day.  While there that afternoon he
turned to me and asked me.

“Why are you so fat?  Your momma is not that fat,
why are you so fat?”

To this day I can still here his thickly accented
voice in my head asking me this question; it haunted me for years and while it
angered me it did not do what I am sure he intended for it to do instead it
drove me home to the comfort of the one friend I had that didn’t judge
me…food.  So, when I read today that model Rosie Huntington Whitely was once
bullied to lose weight, well I had to check it out.

Whats that you say…. Rosie Huntington Whitely used to be fat?  Thats right,
Maxim’s Hottest Woman on Earth was once told she needed to lose some weight and
have better control over herself.  Before the Victoria’s Secret Angel was known
as hotness royalty she was told she needed to lose some pounds.  “When I started
modelling, I was definitely heavier,” she says in “ELLE” magazine’s June issue.
“I was quite voluptuous in fact. I had a real baby face and baby fat. But I was
a baby! I was told I had to get into better shape…”

View ImageThis is “quite
voluptuous”?  Where did these people get their definition of voluptuous?

If we ever had to wonder why women these days have such a flawed sense of
self image one only has to refer back to comments like these to find the
culprit.

Now I am not saying that model’s like Rosie are the reason for the issues I
am complaining about, these issues were around long before many of these girls
were even born but what I want to know is why tell a stunningly beautiful girl
that she needed to lose some weight and get in better shape, and especially when
she was just a child.  And why are there not more “plus sized” models in
mainstream media?  I was surfing the Ashley Stewart website last night looking
at their new arrivals and was struck by how small the model really was.  Its not
just Ashely Stewart either, retailers like Lane Bryant and Avenue rarely use
models much over a size 12; now I don’t know about you but size 12 is not my
definition of “plus sized.”

Why can we not have a variety of models since there are a variety of
customers buying the clothes, it would only make sense to me.

Why must retailers use the smallest possible model in any size to model their
clothes?

Leave a Reply

