The Road is Dark

10 Nov

Sometimes it is really easy to forget.  Forget who I really am, forget that I am
special.  Sometimes it’s all too easy to
remember all the hurtful words, remember the blows, remember the bruises and
scars, remember how worthless I was.  Sometimes
it’s easy to slip and fall back into old habits, it’s easy to do what I’ve always
done, but where has it gotten me?

If you had asked me 2 years ago I would have told you that I
was sure I would never feel again, sure that I would never let myself love
again, sure that I wouldn’t ever be able to love again.  The scars were all too deep, too bloody.

The blood has dried now, the scars just superficial now and
what do you know, my heart is able to feel again, it is able to love.  But, the fear is still there.

I am so very proud of how far I have come but I know that
the road is long and I have so much farther to go.  Some strong and on my own, some weak and
shared.  All of it with the knowledge
that what the good Lord brought me to He will bring me thru.

So, when the road is dark and I can’t see the way, just take
my hand and tell me it will be ok, even on my weakest day, I’ll get a little
bit stronger

Leave a Reply

