Traffic, Electrical Outlets and Other Rants…..

27 Oct

I write to you today from a Starbucks.

It was far too pretty a day to be cooped up in the house so I decided to get out and enjoy it some.  However, this is the 4th place I have been to today just to find an electrical outlet so I could plug-in my laptop.  I have the world’s crappiest battery (it dies in less than an hour) and it seems that everyone has the same idea today so every place I have been the electrical plugs have been bogarted by these hipsters and their iPad’s (I thought those things didn’t need to be charged so stinking much).  One place had 3 people at the table and 6 devices all plugged into the only electrical socket in probably 100 feet.

But, I digress, I’m here now and that is what matters and I have far more pressing things to blog about today.

I was on my way home from dropping off my boyfriend at work this morning when I got caught up in the traffic from a nasty car accident.  You would think that at 6:45 in the morning on a Saturday that no one would be in that big of a hurry to cause this kind of carnage but apparently someone was, I don’t think anyone walked away from that one but as I was stuck in traffic I had time to really observe the severe lack of common courtesy that other drivers on the road have for each other.

I was in the right lane and from my left a white SUV was making his way over to the exit only lane.  He had his turn signal on and was politely making his way across the lanes of stopped traffic when at last he was in front of the car in front of me.  He coasted slowly, with his turn signal on, trying to make his way into the exit only lane but alas he was not having much luck.  For you see, there was a 30-something Hispanic man in a bright red Toyota Yaris that was tailgating the white work pick up in front of him and would not allow this fellow in the SUV to make his way over.

Now, I know what you are asking, but Jen, how did you know that he was purposefully tailgating the vehicle in front of him?  That is a very good question and here is how I know.  At one point there was about 2 cars length of space in front of the Yaris and the work truck and the driver in the white SUV had started to make his way over to the right when all of a sudden the fellow in the Yaris sped up making the white SUV swerve back into his current lane and then from that point on the Yaris was never more than a foot at most from the bumper of the work truck in front of him.

In the words of Stephanie Tanner, “How Rude!”

I noticed after that it seemed to me like there were a lot of drivers doing the same thing.  All traffic on the freeway was making its way to the right so everyone was having to merge but no one wanted to let anyone else merge over, it was almost as if everyone was afraid that they may not make it where they were going if they dared to let someone come get in front of them.  Heaven forbid that emergency personnel should need to get to the accident scene by way of the shoulder because it was clogged with the drivers who impatiently tried to pass those of us who were calmly waiting our turns.

This is a trend that I have been noticing more and more lately and it begs the question, when did we all get into such a hurry?  When did one persons day become that much more important than someone else’s?  My boyfriend does this very thing ,I have noticed, when a car in another lane has its turn signal on he will speed up so that he can get in front of the car or even worse, ride parallel to the vehicle so that it can not get over at all.  I’ve asked him about this habit, have scolded him even, but he can not give me an answer as to why he does it.

So, I am puzzled, why not share the road?

Leave a Reply

